Everyday Minerals

Remember my raves about The Body Shop mineral foundation? Well after that successful try with mineral foundation, I decided to buy from Everyday Minerals when they had a 45% promotion! This promotion is always ongoing.

My current stash from EDM. From top left to right: EDM Medium Concealer, EDM Base in Light Neutral, and EDM Finishing Dust. Middle from left to right: EDM blush nick-nack, EDM blush weekend getaway, EDM all smiles. Bottom from left to right: EDM oval concealer brush, EDM long-handled kabuki brush.

Let’s start with the brushes. I’m sure you’ve heard raves about EDM brushes. Well I’m here to add another. JUST BUY IT!! They’re amazingly soft and do not irritate my face.

oval concealer brush: Firm-yet-soft synthetic bristles and a special tapered design allow for precise application and blending of your Everyday Minerals concealers. This brush works great wet or dry and is also the perfect shape for applying lip color. Perfect for precision application of concealer products. Renewable Bamboo handles and soft synthetic fibers.

6″ long, 0.250″ wide, 2.250″ ferrule to tip .

I use this to blend my concealer in hard to reach areas such as corners of nose and undereye. This small brush gives the right amount of powder and control to these small areas. What would I do without it?

long-handled kabuki: 100% Cruelty Free. Luxurious and dense super-soft synthetic fibers with renewable bamboo handles. Vegan all the way. Perfect for even full coverage powder applications. Ideal brush for cheek, base, face powders. With renewable Bamboo handles and synthetic hair.

4.20″ long, 1″ wide, 2.50″ ferrule to tip.

The perfect brush for applying foundation. It picks up the right amount of powder while excess can be easily shaken off by knocking the brush lightly against the cover. I also use it to apply concealer when covering a larger area.

Next on to the powders. Their powders come in 4 different formulas, original-glo, semi-matte, matte and intentisve.

Intensive offers the best coverage but is ‘known’ for breaking people out. Original-glo has about the same coverage as matte but the former gives a glowy finish, the latter a matt finish. I am using the matt formula and I think the coverage is already pretty decent. I really love how EDM powders make my face look flawless. The powder glides on extremely smoothly and doesn’t make your face look cakey. Perhaps I’m loving it so much that I’m trying to deny that they clog pores.

Description are taken from EDM website.

Everyday Minerals Intensive Medium Concealer: For those who are serious about camouflaging evidence of skin imperfections, including dark circles, sun or age spots, blemishes, Intensive Concealers are the way to go. They contain more intense doses of pigments for thicker coverage without being cakey or unnatural. This shade is perfect for those with Light to Medium toned complexions.

I love love LOVE this concealer! It covers my redness and pimples PERFECTLY, giving my face a smooth finish when I apply the base later. It also hides my pores well and I love the way my face looked – refined and smooth. For those who are looking for something strong to give good coverage, this concealer is the way to go. I don’t put eye make-up but for those who do, I would recommend their multi-intensive concealer which doubles as an eye primer for longer lasting eyeshadows. This has become a staple in my make-up routine.

Everyday Minerals Base in Light Neutral: For light to medium complexions with neutral undertones.

As much as I hate to say this, EDM has kicked off TBS to be my top mineral foundation choice. Reason 1: It is much cheaper. Reason 2: It gives so much better coverage. Reason 3: Better coverage! what more can I say?!

I find light neutral a fair bit too light for me. People would be asking me why I looked so pale so upon finishing it, I bought Golden Medium (shown below) which fits my skin colour fine. I use MAC NC25/ ZA 21 but myskin’s slighter darker than that. I just like to look paler than I really am. 

EDM has a wide range of tones to choose from and first timers can be confused but I would suggest Asians to select from their Olive collection. Their scale goes from fair, light, medium, tan and deep tan and this applies to all their collection. I usually choose light to medium.

Usage is simple. Sprinkle a small amount of mineral powder into the lid. Lightly dip your Foundation, Flat Top or Kabuki brush into the mineral powder. Swirl your brush into the lid, allowing the minerals to diffuse onto your brush. Use sweeping and circular motions with your brush lightly all over face and neck. Moisturize skin before use. Apply your mineral base in several light layers, allowing for buildable flawless coverage.

Everyday Minerals Finishing Dust: Translucent powders that serve to set your makeup and get rid of excess shine. They are suitable for all skin shades, from Fair to Light to Medium to Dark. It is akin to a long wearing mattifying loose powder.

Even though their finishing dust is said to be anti-shine, I find it not very good at sebum control. My face gets shiny in just 4h. However, it does give a very smooth, radiant and polished finish. As mentioned here, my sister uses this after TBS mineral foundation and her friends said that she looked positively radiant. For girls who are worried, a good sebum controlling primer should do the trick of controlling oil. I think I shall try their Kaolin Powder Sunlight next for its sebum controlling properties.

Everyday Minerals Blush:

Nick-Nack: A matte pink shade with hints of yellow.

All Smiles: A rosy peach matte shade.

Weekend Getaway: A flattering matte shade with tones of earthy peach and pink. Ideal for fair to medium complexions.

As you can see, I prefer matt blushers. I am loving Weekend Getaway (colour above). It’s the perfect shade for me, not too pink and not too red. Nick Nack is a pink shade and I can’t do pink. All Smiles is redder and more towards orange-red IMO. I like how it looks after some of the powder fell off. Looks really natural and it brings some colour to my cheeks, as opposed to Weekend Getaway which kind of ‘disappears’ after some time.

I just started using their blusher but I have a nagging feeling that it is breaking me out. I began to develop more small bumps on my cheeks which I later learnt are clogged pores. They are just small and painless bumps like in an allergic reason. They look like pimples but wil no head.

All in all: I’m loving EDM because it gives great coverage and is not as drying as TBS foundation. However, I still feel that TBS foundation has finer grains and is more gentle on skin. There isn’t any sign that says its non-comedogenic while TBS is. What’s more, TBS has SPF while EDM has none. Still, I chose coverage over SPF since a sunblock would do just fine. I stopped using the blusher and my condition improved a lot so most probably the blusher is the cluprit for my clogged pores. Still, I think I’ll buy the original-glo formula next time as it seems to break people out the least.

Leave a comment